The Left-Handed Crafter

Hello, MSB? Meet bright white.

Posted on: May 27, 2009

Do we make a cute blanket or what?

Do we make a cute blanket or what?

Remember the other day when I bought a bunch of white yarn to mix into the Mitered Square Blanket (MSB)?  I was a little dubious at first as to how the blanket would handle such a bright white, but I think it’s growing on me.  The colors are all pastel anyway, so I think the white will fit right in.  And besides, “white says summer” (as Ann and Kay so adorably put it in their book), and this is most definitely summer knitting.  Oh, bright white yarn, you had me at hello.  : )

What you see above is a mix of the four miter color-combinations that I’ve knit so far: purple/green, light blue/dark blue, light pink/dark pink, and — the newest edition — light pink/white.  I intend to combine white with each of the other colors in the blanket, which will really insert a LOT of white into the mix.  Why not lighten things up a bit, right? 

What’s really interesting to me about this blanket is the way the colors will flow together once everything is sewn up.  You can start to see it in the photo above – see how the light pink stripes will match up in the two miters on the right side of the 4-patch?  Imagine if the light pink ran through all four miters - cute, right?  It’ll give some continuity to the overall piece, and I think it will stand out even more when darker colors match up.  I really can’t wait to see the finished product, but alas, there are a crap-load of miters to knit before that happens!

Light pink and white miters

Light pink and white miters

The two babies above are the only light pink/white miters completed so far.  I still think they’re really light (the pink and white kind of blend into each other), but I think this is the only color combination where this is going to be an issue.  If nothing else, they’ll serve as a “Hey, look at me, I’m super white!” square in the finished blanket.  It’ll break up the pattern a bit, which I suppose is a good thing for such a random blanket like this one.

All in all, I’m really happy with the way this project is turning out, and I’m having a lot of fun switching up the colors as I knit.  Nothing like portable, colorful knitting to get me back in the swing of things. 

Oh, and my Ravelry invitation arrived today – so exciting!  I can’t wait to check it out.  : )

2 Responses to "Hello, MSB? Meet bright white."

Looks like it’s going to be a lovely blanket!
PS welcome to ravelry–say goodbye to your remaining free time ;)

Thank you! As for Ravelry… I think I’m addicted already. : )

Leave a Reply

I do things backwards, on purpose.

Hi there!

Name: Carolyn

Location: Westchester, New York

Affliction: Left-handed, left-brained craft addict

Warning: I knit backwards. If you feel yourself twitching at the very thought, take a deep breath and hold a mirror up to the screen. Trust me, it will be ok. : )

Contact Me

Current Works in Progress

Finished Objects

Recent Comments

The Left-Handed Craf… on Unearthing my Henry scarf
Rosemary on Unearthing my Henry scarf
The Left-Handed Craf… on Blue and purple miters
Manshi on Blue and purple miters
The Left-Handed Craf… on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
Ro on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Just born: pink and green…
sixtyfourstitches on Just born: pink and green…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Hello, MSB? Meet bright w…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Saying goodbye to my favorite…
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

