The Left-Handed Crafter

Historic FO: Endpaper Mitts

Posted on: June 3, 2009

Oh Endpaper Mitts, how I adore you

Oh Endpaper Mitts, how I adore you

As I’m knitting away on the Mitered Square Blanket (which is actually going really well – I’ve been knitting about a square a night all week), I figured I’d post about an old finished object (FO) that’s near and dear to my heart… and hands.  The Endpaper Mitts by Eunny Jang, a beautiful and cleverly-designed pair of fingerless mittens, perfect for keeping chilly hands and wrists warm in an arctic-like office (i.e., my office every single day of the year, regardless of the actual temperature outside) while still being able to type.  But I digress… these mitts were a really fun project and came out great, if I do say so myself.  : )

First of all, Eunny.  Can I just say how much I admire this woman?  She’s young and cheery, she designs absolutely amazing and intricate projects that we just can’t get enough of, and – hello? – she’s the freaking editor of Interweave Knits!  Holy knitting icon, Batman!  I am in awe of her drive, dedication, and absolutely superb craftsmanship.  These little mitts only scratch the surface of her patterns – a quick Ravelry search (or Google, of course) will give you a much better idea of this woman’s talent with yarn and needles.  Can you tell I am fascinated with Eunny?  Oh, don’t deny it, you know you are too!

Endpaper Mitts in action

Endpaper Mitts in action

I whipped up these mitts back in the winter of 2006/2007 (???) or during some other point in my life that would classify as “a long time ago.”  (The pattern came out in November 2006, so I don’t think I’m too far off.)  I found the two-color pattern to be a little complicated at first, but once you get the hang of it, it’s pretty intuitive.  The mitts are knit in the round from the bottom up on double-pointed needles (DPNs), and the only trick is making sure that you don’t have any weirdness where the needles join.  I found that pulling the yarn a little tighter in those spots usually does the trick.  (BTW, notice in the photo above that I’m modeling wool mitts, in June, with my air conditioner in the window, and with my holiday cards from December still hanging on the wall.  What can I say?  This is my life, people.)

Project Specs:

My poor right hand, only good for modeling FOs

My poor right hand, only good for modeling FOs

.... and the back of the mitts

.... and the back of the mitts

Did I mention how much I love how these came out?  : )  Let me just say, I get all sorts of “ooohs” and “ahhhs” when I wear these in the office, and even more so when I tell my coworkers that I made them myself.  What a great knitterly ego boost, right?  I can’t take credit for the gorgeous pattern, but the mitts do show off my knitting skillz, which have come quite a long way since I first started out.  Little do my office peeps know how easy these are to make!

I actually enjoyed knitting these beauties so much that I immediately cast on and completed another pair during the same winter – a light blue/brown combination that is currently sitting in my office drawer and therefore unavailable for a proper photo shoot.  If you’re looking for a quick, fun project that will impress your friends, these mitts are just the thing… not to mention the fact that they really do keep your hands warm and also look fabulous.  It’s a win-win, really.

My only complaint about this project is that I cast off the thumb ribbing too tightly on one of the mitts, so it starts to cut off my circulation after a while.  I suppose, in theory, I could redo the cast off, but come on, I am way too lazy for that!  Instead, I suffer for fashion, as all women do.  I think the ultimate combination would be these mitts and a fabulous pair of “for display only” heels – the ultimate uncomfortable sacrifice for the sake of fashion.  Note to self: must plan this into my week.  : )

2 Responses to "Historic FO: Endpaper Mitts"

These are gorgeous. Especially in classic b&w. Well done! They’re in my Ravelry favs. One day…

I’m a Eunny fangirl, too.

Thanks! I would definitely recommend making a pair – fun to knit and actually useful to wear.

Leave a Reply

I do things backwards, on purpose.

Hi there!

Name: Carolyn

Location: Westchester, New York

Affliction: Left-handed, left-brained craft addict

Warning: I knit backwards. If you feel yourself twitching at the very thought, take a deep breath and hold a mirror up to the screen. Trust me, it will be ok. : )

Contact Me

Current Works in Progress

Finished Objects

Recent Comments

The Left-Handed Craf… on Unearthing my Henry scarf
Rosemary on Unearthing my Henry scarf
The Left-Handed Craf… on Blue and purple miters
Manshi on Blue and purple miters
The Left-Handed Craf… on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
Ro on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Just born: pink and green…
sixtyfourstitches on Just born: pink and green…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Hello, MSB? Meet bright w…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Saying goodbye to my favorite…
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

