The Left-Handed Crafter

Saying goodbye to my favorite LYS

Posted on: May 26, 2009

Even their shiny pink logo is adorable!

Even their shiny pink logo is adorable!

Now that I’m reinvigorated with knitterly excitement, I checked out the website of my favorite local yarn shop (LYS) to see what was new, thinking that a trip and a little purchase were in order.  But lo and behold, I found that this yarn nirvana is going out of business after six years of serving the Greenwich, CT community with all things warm and woolly.  How sad!

The Knitting Niche is truly an exceptional shop, somehow cramming a full range of mouth-watering yarns (from delicious cottons to exquisite cashmeres and alpacas) into a bright, friendly, and tiny storefront shop.  It was my favorite place to spend a Saturday afternoon fondling, sniffing, and even taking home a few specimens from their scrumptious collection.  I can’t believe I won’t be able to go back there and soak up the knitterly love anymore!

The best part about this shop was the fact that the staff was friendly and helpful without getting all up in your grill while you were shopping – know what I mean?  They left me alone when I wanted to browse, and they would really go the extra mile for you when you asked for help.  It was a fun, welcoming community, and I even made a few knitterly friends who also frequented the shop.  Plus, there was plenty of parking – a rarity for Westchester/Fairfield counties.

I know the knitting business (and the knitting blogosphere – I have impeccable timing with starting up this site, right?) have been in a bit of a decline compared to a few years ago, and I can’t help but think that my recent bout of knitting ennui and the associated lack of Knitting Niche purchases contributed to the store’s untimely end.  I’m truly sorry to see it go, and I have a new-found appreciation for the importance of supporting local small businesses. 

To Vanessa (the owner) and the entire staff at The Knitting Niche – thank you so much for all the hard work and love you put into that store.  You will truly be missed.

So, what’s left?  Two other LYSs come to mind – Sticks & Strings in Scarsdale, NY and Flying Fingers in Tarrytown, NY.  Both are adorable shops, but I don’t see either one of them replacing The Knitting Niche as my local favorite.  Even if I can no longer visit, it will always have a special place in my woolly heart.  : )

2 Responses to "Saying goodbye to my favorite LYS"

Hey, you might catch a few great markdowns.

Yeah, I’ll have to check it out before they close!

Leave a Reply

I do things backwards, on purpose.

Hi there!

Name: Carolyn

Location: Westchester, New York

Affliction: Left-handed, left-brained craft addict

Warning: I knit backwards. If you feel yourself twitching at the very thought, take a deep breath and hold a mirror up to the screen. Trust me, it will be ok. : )

Contact Me

Current Works in Progress

Finished Objects

Recent Comments

The Left-Handed Craf… on Unearthing my Henry scarf
Rosemary on Unearthing my Henry scarf
The Left-Handed Craf… on Blue and purple miters
Manshi on Blue and purple miters
The Left-Handed Craf… on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
Ro on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Just born: pink and green…
sixtyfourstitches on Just born: pink and green…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Hello, MSB? Meet bright w…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Saying goodbye to my favorite…
