The Left-Handed Crafter

The perils of left-handed knitters

Posted on: July 10, 2009

First of all, my apologies for not keeping up with my poor, neglected craft blog!  I realized that I just don’t accomplish enough crafty progress to keep up with regular posting, but I suppose I’ll keep this site around for occasional spurts of progress or interesting tidbits (like the little gem I have for you today).  Such is life, I suppose.  : )

Anyway, get this: Last week one of my coworkers requested that I teach her how to knit, and of course, I enthusiastically obliged.  How exciting!  Another future knitting addict… mmmm… [insert evil laugh].  We scheduled a little lunch meeting on Monday, and I came armed with extra yarn, straight needles, and my knitting instruction book (this one).  I showed her the basics – casting on, knitting, and purling – and she actually picked it up surprisingly quickly.  She was a natural!  And despite my awkwardness in trying to do everything backwards (well, “the right way” for all you right-handed knitters out there), I thought I actually did a pretty good job…

Until I noticed that her stitches were coming out twisted.  Aaaarrrgghhhhh!  I’ve been foiled by my own left-handedness yet again!  SO frustrating.  It took me a while to finally figure out that I had taught her to wrap her purl stitches the wrong way.  I felt so bad about it, but was happy to see that she adjusted and picked up the correction with no problem.  Phew!  But man, the whole experience was so confusing!  I was trying to knit from right to left to show her what to do, and she was actually going faster than I was because I couldn’t figure out how to reverse everything!  Hahaha, it was such a disaster.  : )

But good thing this woman was such a fast learner.  Rest assured that I’ve seen her knitting since Monday, and she’s knitting and purling perfectly (no twisted stitches or anything).  This just goes to show that we backwards-knitters are unknowingly destroying the world of knitting, one twisted purl stitch at a time.  Can’t we all move to a tropical island or something where we can’t confuse the rest of the knitting community?  Oooooh, and we’d have to have plenty of margaritas and servant boys. Yes, definitely servant boys.  : )

Leave a Reply

I do things backwards, on purpose.

Hi there!

Name: Carolyn

Location: Westchester, New York

Affliction: Left-handed, left-brained craft addict

Warning: I knit backwards. If you feel yourself twitching at the very thought, take a deep breath and hold a mirror up to the screen. Trust me, it will be ok. : )

Contact Me

Current Works in Progress

Finished Objects

Recent Comments

The Left-Handed Craf… on Unearthing my Henry scarf
Rosemary on Unearthing my Henry scarf
The Left-Handed Craf… on Blue and purple miters
Manshi on Blue and purple miters
The Left-Handed Craf… on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
Ro on Historic FO: Endpaper Mit…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Just born: pink and green…
sixtyfourstitches on Just born: pink and green…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Hello, MSB? Meet bright w…
The Left-Handed Craf… on Saying goodbye to my favorite…
